I am back, baby!

This is probably the least professional headline ever, but really, I couldn’t think of anything else. Remember when I stopped writing here, on this humble blog, to launch my very own website? Yeah, it was funny for a while, until I realized that I missed blogging, really blogging. With my own terms and conditions. Which explains why I decided to start again, here, clean slate, because since I last wrote on this specific platform, here what happened:

I graduated from the University of Portsmouth with a MA in Applied Linguistics and TESOL and LOVED it. I had the incredible opportunity to work with Peter Watkins, Nick Bertenshaw… To sum up, incredible people.

I became Head of Department at a business school but my department is not related to English. How is that possible? Well, because before being an English teacher, I was working in real estate, as an executive assistant and when the opportunity was offered, I happily accepted. I realized, through this experience, that I missed leading people, I missed the whole challenge of management. I am lucky to teach English to business students AND to lead teachers at the same time. Following this idea, I enrolled to Harvard Graduate School of Education and did an Instructional Leadership online, which focused on four specific elements: articulating the principles of teaching, mentoring, instructional coaching and leading teacher teams.

It made me realize that despite everything I wanted to believe in, working on lovely topics such as BELF, English as a lingua franca training, well, anything related to non-native speakerism to be honest, wouldn’t help me secure a position at a higher level. So, despite being passionate on this topic, I put everything on hold and decided to focus on something else I was good at : managing.

Let’s go right through my journey as a wannabe teacher manager, as a MA in Education and Leadership student (still specialized in TESOL) then!

Laisser un commentaire